So, What Do You Do? (Unveiling the Job of a Wedding Planner)

ImageIt is a question that comes up in nearly every conversation, “So, what do you do?” I have quickly realized that telling someone that I am a wedding planner just doesn’t cut it. Although it is my title, I was surprised to find out that many people (even brides) do not know what it is that I do.

A lot of brides think that because they are planning the actual wedding on their own, there is no need for a wedding planner. In reality, the majority of my clients are hiring me as a day-of-coordinator. What is a day-of-coordinator? Although the bride pieces together the majority of the details for her dream wedding, I am hired for the purpose of professional guidance and as an information source for tasks like vendor recommendations and wedding day logistics. While I may be hired at anytime during the wedding planning process, the majority of my work is done in the final few months leading up to the wedding.

Once the big day arrives, I like for the bride to think of me as her own personal assistant. Some brides want me by their side the entire day while other brides prefer me to go everywhere she cannot be to ensure everything is perfect. In the instance that something goes wrong, I can take care of it without the bride ever knowing about it.

To sum it all up, my main purpose as a wedding planner is to make the wedding easier for the bride and groom, the vendors and the guests, whether I am hired to plan the entire wedding or to serve as the day-of-coordinator.

I hope this gives you a better understanding of the job of a wedding planner. For more information, contact Delvaux Wedding & Event Planning.

Leave a Reply

