A Few of My Favorite {Wedding} Things

Most of the weddings I am hired to coordinate already involve the bride and groom’s creativity and personalities. Sometimes, the ideas I love aren’t always needed or even a good fit for the couple. SO, I thought I would share a couple of my current favorite things when it comes to everything weddings!

If I could fall in love with a drink cart, it would be this one.

Drink Carts
My love for drink carts started a couple of years ago at an event for my husband’s work. I cannot tell you what we ate, but I do remember the beautiful carts with the evening’s wine choices in tote. I was (kind of) embarrassed to take pictures during the sit-down dinner, but was able to snap this one as a neighboring table was being served. This cart  was obviously for a very classy event, but drink carts can be tailored to fit any theme. If you’re having a more rustic, outdoor or casual event, a wooden cart holding glass dispensers filled with flavored waters, lemonade and sweat tea would be perfect.

Outdoor Chandeliers and Other Lighting
When it comes to outdoor, evening weddings, there’s nothing I like more than beautiful chandeliers and other romantic lighting. (Heck, the only reason I want a deck in our backyard is so we can string lights from it!) Chandeliers look great up at the ceremony altar, hanging over the guests and over the dance floor. The only detail I remember from the most recent televised Bachelor wedding is the chandeliers everywhere. If the wedding is taking place where there are trees around, clear lights, small or large, can be strung and create quite an effect as well.

Mr. and Mrs. The Bachelor had chandeliers everywhere at their wedding.

Mr. and Mrs. The Bachelor had chandeliers everywhere at their wedding.

Food or Drink Bars of Any Kind
There’s just something I love about having lots of options! (Maybe it’s a girl thing?) For my wedding in 2008, candy buffets were just starting to become popular and with my sweet tooth, I HAD to have one. It seems like today, the possibilities for food and drink bars are absolutely endless and again, can be fully customized to the bride and groom’s personalities and likes. I have mentioned in the past doing a bubbly bar with champagne (or club soda for the non-drinkers), fruit juices and fruit and herb garnishes. I also LOVE the idea of a frozen yogurt bar–the possibilities for that alone are endless! What about an idea for a winter wedding? A hot cocoa bar would be so much fun! Don’t forget all the options…whipped cream, marshmallows, caramel sauce, peppermint candies, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, Bailey’s. A hot cider bar is another great option.

A hot beverage station can be for guests to enjoy at the reception or to prep and take with them for their ride home. (Photo by R. Fritz Photography)

A hot beverage station can be for guests to enjoy during the reception or to prep and take with them for their ride home.  (Photo by R. Fritz Photography)

These are a few of my favorite things. 🙂 I hope you’ve enjoyed and feel free to add your ideas to my favorites or share your own in the comments below!

 

